Skip to main content


Foto: Matjaž Bedjanič

Foto: Špela Habič

Foto: Miha Krofel

Foto: Griša Planinc

Foto: Andrej Hudoklin

Foto: Matjaž Bedjanič

Foto: Matevž Lenarčič

Foto: Hrvoje Oršanič

Foto: Tine Mihelič



Nature is conserved in such a manner so as to protect valuable natural features and to conserve biodiversity. Valuable natural features include all types of natural heritage such as:  rare, precious, famous and other valuable natural phenomena, e.g. minerals and fossils, caves, gorges, springs, waterfalls, rapids, lakes, bogs, brooks and rivers with banks, the seashore, the landscape and designed landscapes. Biodiversity, i.e. the diversity of living organisms is preserved through upholding the natural equilibrium.